County Demographics & Resources

The Central Ohio Area Agency on Aging serves as Ohio’s Planning and Service Area 6 (PSA6) and is operated under the Columbus Recreation and Parks Department of the City of Columbus. COAAA was established in 1974 and serves eight counties: Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Licking, Madison, Pickaway, and Union.

There are 622 Area Agencies on Aging (often called triple-As) in the United States. Every US county is served by an area agency, which were established under the Older Americans Act (OAA) in 1973 to respond to the needs of Americans 60 and over. The Ohio Association of Area Agencies on Aging (o4a) is the statewide network serving as a collective voice for Ohio’s 12 Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs).

2023‐2026 Strategic Area Plan Needs Assessment Summary

In 2022, COAAA submitted our 2023-2026 Strategic Area Plan documents to the Ohio Department of Aging. The Needs Assessment document includes a demographic profile of older adults in the region, a summary of economic and social needs in the region, information about the development of Strategic Area Plan proposed strategies, a summary of the region's information and referral (I&R) providers, as well as the goals and objectives for 2023-2026

The Ohio Department of Aging published its most recent State Plan on Aging; it is available at

In 2021, COAAA partnered with the Age Friendly Innovation Center and Franklin County Office on Aging to conduct the Central Ohio Regional Assessment on Aging. The assessment summary is based on responses from randomly-selected residents over the age of 50 from COAAA's eight counties: Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Licking, Madison, Pickaway, and Union.

2021 Central Ohio Regional Assessment on Aging

Members of the public can access the regional and county data from the 2021 Central Ohio regional survey at

County Focal Point Agencies

COAAA’s county focal point agencies serve as local entry points through which older adults, people with disabilities, family members and caregivers, and others can access information, referral, assessment, and services provided or funded by COAAA. A list of COAAA’s focal point agencies is below; additional county-specific resources can be found on our website under Resources > Crisis/ Abuse/ Neglect.

Delaware County
800 Cheshire Dr.
Delaware, OH 43015

Fairfield County
Meals on Wheels of Fairfield County
1515 Cedar Hill Road
Lancaster, OH 43130

Fayette County
Fayette County Commission on Aging
1179 S. Elm St.
Washington Ct. House, OH 43160

Community Action Commission of Fayette County
1400 US Route 22 NW
Washington Court House, OH 43160

Franklin County
Franklin County Office on Aging
280 E. Broad St., 3rd Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

LifeCare Alliance
1699 W Mound St.
Columbus, OH 43223

Licking County
Licking County Aging Partners
1058 E. Main St.
Newark, OH 43055

Madison County
Madison County Senior Center
280 W. High St.
London, OH 43140

Pickaway County
Pickaway Senior Center
2105 Chickasaw Dr.
P.O. Box 565
Circleville, OH 43113

Union County
Union County Senior Services
940 London Avenue, Suite 1800
Marysville, Ohio 43040
937-644-1010, option 5